, Slade, Dave Hill, Don Powell, Jim Lea, Noddy Holder, Glamrock, Slade40years, Don Powell Fanclub, Wolverhampton, Bilston, Slade-fans, Slade-toudates, Original-Slade, Glamrock, Superyob, Universe, Far Far Away, Run away, My Oh My,

20th September 2010 Slade - Rare And Unseen DVD



DVD of rare interviews, releasedate 20th September 2010


















"Think of BBC1’s Top of the Pops at its 15 million viewing peak during the early ’70s and a mental image of Slade - stomping, smiling, shining Bacofoil bright - is rarely very far away. But the band’s relationship with BBC Radio was not always as joyous or as uncomplicated.


“Jimmy Young said he’d never heard such a row in all his life,” remembers Jim Lea, the group’s bassist and musical powerhouse. “Tony Blackburn machine-gunned our first hit live on air. Ed Stewart said we’d never make it. Tommy Vance hated our guts to begin with. John Peel was always suspicious of us. And Noel Edmonds used to call us ‘Never,’ as in ‘Slade? Never!’”


All were leading DJs on the Beeb’s new flagship station Radio 1 and all would be won over in the end. “We were a fantastic band,” Jim says, “and I had no doubt that we would make it. The Spencer Davis Group had made it. The Moody Blues had made it. The Move had made it.” The Midlands had a great track record. “Besides,” adds Jim with no hint of a raised eyebrow, “we were just so much better than anybody else on the local circuit at the time.”


The era documented here, 1969 to 1972, witnessed Slade’s transformation from a selfconfessed travelling rock ‘n’ soul jukebox into the nation’s favourite glam rock combo. And just as it had helped to break The Beatles and many other bands, the BBC played a vital supporting role in Slade’s rise to the top.


Such is the enduring power of Slade’s magnificently successful wall of sound and riotous anthems, which earned them 17 Top 20 hits between 1971 and ’76 and rave endorsements from Oasis and virtually every other rock notable since, that the world is often only aware of a single, one-dimensional Slade. Compiled and produced with the help of the group, this fantastic collection of rare and largely unissued material fleshes that out by presenting not only the studio Slade and the in concert Slade, but the pre-fame Slade; a tight, hard-hitting combo that cut its teeth on a

range of soul, psychedelic, pop and rock covers, while making tentative and highly successful inroads into writing their own material.


The 5,000 word liner notes, written by MOJO’s Mark Paytress, who conducted brand new interviews with each member of the band, fully detail this fascinating period in the career of one of Britain’s most successful ever bands."




Format: 2CD in deluxe gatefold digipack

Cat No.: SALVO 211

Barcode: 698458821126

Playing Time: 2 hrs

Salvo New Release


A release that Slade fans have long dreamt of – a fantastic document of the period during which they transformed themselves from a potent live attraction with a burgeoning song craft of their own into the UK’s favourite hit-making machine

· A total of 36 rare tracks, all previously unreleased

· Remastered under the supervision of Slade’s Jim Lea by Tim Turan at Turan Audio for the finest possible sound quality

· Stylish double digi-pack with 24-page booklet containing previously unseen

photographs plus a comprehensive overview and track-by-track notes by Mojo’s Mark Paytress featuring extensive comments from the band

· A wonderful addition to Salvo’s critically acclaimed Slade reissues, supported by a marketing and press campaign involving the band




CD1 Studio sessions 1969-72

1. Coming Home

2. The Shape Of Things To Come

3. See Us Here

4. Know Who You Are

5. My Life Is Natural

6. Coloured Rain

7. Man Who Speeks Evil

8. Move Over

9. Omaha

10. Sweet Box

11. Nights In White Satin

12. It's Alright Ma, It's Only Witchcraft

13. Raven

14. Gudbuy Gudbuy

15. Getting Better

16. Darling Be Home Soon

17. Let The Good Times Roll

18. Dirty Joker

19. Get Down And Get With It

20. Wild Winds Are Blowing


Radio 1 jingles

21. “Radio 1 where the best music’s on”

22. “Everyday the sounds we play on Radio 1”

23. “This is Radio 1, we’re all having fun”

24. “We’re Slade!”


CD2 Live at the Paris Theatre, London, August 17, 1972

1. Introduction

2. Hear Me Calling

3. In Like A Shot (From My Gun)

4. Look Wot You Dun

5. Keep On Rocking

6. Move Over Baby

7. Mama Weer All Crazee Now

8. Lady Be Good

9. Coz I Luv You

10. Take Me Back 'Ome

11. Get Down And Get With It

12. Good Golly Miss Molly"